The Beginning Of A DUI In Florida
After having a few drinks, you decide to get behind the wheel of a car. Next thing you know, in the rear view mirror you see blue flashing lights. Knowing that you are under the influence, you are now probably quite nervous. And rightfully so! Florida takes DUI charges very seriously. You have probably heard some stories about DUI in Florida ruining people’s lives and probably heard other stories where the driver was able to beat the charges. At this point you probably are not sure what to expect. Here we will paint you a realistic picture of what happens when you get a DUI in Florida.
After the officer determines that you are intoxicated, he will place you under arrest. You can expect to be handcuffed and placed in the back of a police car. After being taken to county jail, anticipate being given a Breathalyzer Test. Florida’s implied consent law states that your license can be suspended just for refusing to take a breath test. The officer will also inform you that the court can hold refusal against you.
Being cooperative, you agree to take the breath test. You will probably be asked to blow twice. Now you it and wait for further information. An officer will come to take your mug shot. You will be taken to a jail cell called a “drunk tank”, joining other intoxicated arrestees. You will have to stay in the jail cell until it is determined that you are no longer intoxicated. This is usually several hours after the arrest. First time DUI offenders are often given a bond of $1,000 or less.
On To The Consequences
Next you will be asked if you want to be provided with a public defender. DUI in Florida cases defended by public defenders have a much lower success rate than those defended by private attorneys. But keep in mind, all private attorneys are not created equal. The penalties for Florida DUIs include:
- $500 – $2000 in fines
- Probation for no more than one year
- Jail time for no more than 1 year
- 180 days to 1-year license suspension
- Vehicle Impoundment
- Ignition interlock
- 50 hours of community service
- DUI driving school A substance abuse evaluation
A DUI case is no joke! You want to go into court with an experienced and informed DUI attorney. If you or someone you know has been charged with a DUI in Florida, call the Law Office of Salnick, Fuchs & Bertisch, P.A. We are available 24 hours a day/7 days a week at 561-257-1005. The initial consultation is always free. We are highly experienced and proficient in litigation and Florida DUI law. Don’t waste time. It is vital that you seek out legal council as soon as possible. We are ready to help you end your legal nightmare.