Getting Your First Offense DUI
So you had one too many and didn’t call for a UBER, no big deal right? Your driving down the road and you see a car start to pull up behind you, your heart starts to race. Questions start running through your head, how much did I have to drink? Am I over the legal limit? Then right when you start to realize you probably shouldn’t be driving you see the flashing lights and you know it is going to be a long, long night. You just got your first offense DUI.
When you are arrested for DUI in Florida for the first times, the penalties range for small to severe. Unlike multiple offenses, almost all first times are charged as a misdemeanor.
Below you can see the list of minimum to maximum charges for a Florida First Offense DUI.
- Fines ranging from $500-$2000 depending on the situation of your arrest
- Probation Up to one year
- Jail time Up to nine months
- License Suspension 180 Days to 1 Year
- Vehicle Impound Mandatory ten days
- Ignition Interlock Up to six months
- Community Service 50 Hours
- DUI Driving School
- Substance Abuse Evaluation
Contacting An Attorney
These punishments all vary depending on the level of your blood alcohol content, and the situation of your arrest. Typically those with a low BAC that do as the officer says see little punishment. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI time is of the essence. Contacting a DUI attorney within the first few days of being arrested can greatly increase the success of your defense. Contact the experienced attorneys at the Law Office of Salnick, Fuchs & Bertisch, P.A. 24 hours a day for a free consultation. Our firm dedicates itself to Delray Beach DUI Defense and is prepared to help you today. We pledge to keep you informed every step of the way and make sure you fully understand the gravity of your situation at all times. Feel free to call us today at 561-257-1005.