Dealing with your Third Offense DUI
After a long day at work who can say no to have a few drinks with their coworkers? Of course, a few turns into a few too many, and you end up driving home. You’ve been pulled over for DUI twice before, you know what you’re supposed to say by now. Don’t incriminate yourself, don’t do the field sobriety tests, but you slip up when he asks you if you have been drinking, and you say “a few”. You know where this is going, hands behind your back, duck your head down. Next thing you know you have a Third Offense DUI
When you’re arrested for third time offense in Florida there is only one type of arrest as opposed to the second and fourth offenses.
The charges for a third offense DUI are as follows:
- Fines ranging from $1000-$5000 depending on the situation of your arrest
- Probation Up to one year
- Jail time Up to twelve months
- License Suspension Ten years
- Vehicle Impound Mandatory ten days, 90 if you were previously charged in the last 5 years
- Ignition Interlock Minimum of two year
- DUI Driving School
- Substance Abuse Evaluation
Contacting a Delray Beach DUI Attorney
These penalties can vary depending on how cooperative you are with the officer and how high your BAC is at the time of your arrest. Third offense DUI in Florida is taken very seriously. Losing your license for ten years is enough to cripple most peoples well being. Having an experienced defense attorney can make all the difference when you are dealing with these types of charges. It is important to find an attorney’s office that specializes in DUI and has a proven track record of success. Experience in these matters can be invaluable when it comes to you defense. The Law Office of Salnick, Fuchs & Bertisch, P.A. are dedicated to Delray Beach DUI Defense. Their talented team of lawyers strive to bring you the best defense available. If you have been arrested you can contact them for a free consultation today at 561-257-1005.